Feed on


Welcome to Little Knoll Press

Publisher of unique books about extraordinary places by fascinating people.

Books, authors and publication services

On this site you can find out more about Little Knoll Press books, authors and publication services, and you can visit Little Knoll Bookshop by clicking the link on the top bar of the webpage.

Little Knoll Press stories, news and author events

You will also find stories, news and information about forthcoming LKP author events by clicking on the LKP Blog link on the top bar of the webpage.


History of Little Knoll Press

Little Knoll Press started in 2010 with the publication of the book Strangers in Chaotung by Winifred Tovey, a memoir that covers childhood in England between the Great War and WW2, work in wartime Bedford, the hazardous life of a missionary’s wife in remote SW China and a close escape from Mao’s revolution.

Strangers in Chaotung is illustrated throughout with photographs, maps and sketches that cannot be found elsewhere.


On the heels of Strangers in Chaotung came another book Cor Blimey! Where ‘ave you come from? by Winifred Tovey, this time encapsulating sixteen years in South India during the 1950s and 60s, and including chapters by her surgeon husband, Frank Tovey.  Writing their first books in their 90s, the authors were guests on Libby Purves’ BBC Radio 4 Midweek programme, attracting a response from hundreds of people who shared an interest in India and the post-Raj era.

Cor Blimey! Where ‘ave you come from? is both a personal story and one that captures a unique time in history.  The work that Frank and Winnie Tovey were doing to cure leprosy and rehabilitate sufferers has its fictional parallel in Victoria Hislop’s novel The Island.  

Cor Blimey! Where ‘ave you come from? is also available from Little Knoll Bookshop as an E-book (Kindle and E-pub).


Two novels followed Cor Blimey! Where ‘ave you come from? and both are rooted in the real experiences of their authors.

The Desert Iris by Alicia Over (nom-de-plume for Morag Saunders) is a romantic spy story based on the author’s own experiences during the ‘Kuwait Emergency’ of 1961, a time when few single women ventured to work in the Middle East.  It gives intriguing insights on the history of Kuwait and the events that preceded the eruption of troubles in the Middle East.

Dead Money by Teresa Hunter, is a tense thriller based on greed, corruption and criminal activity, with parallels to recent scandals that have blighted the City.  Teresa, a financial journalist, uses her knowledge of events, keeping the reader on the edge of their seat, guessing the outcome right up to the end.


This year’s (2013) first publication is a factual book, once again richly illustrated, this time in full colour.

A Lifetime in Postcards by New Forest artist, Gervase A Gregory, is a truly beautiful book.  In its 92 pages you will find 65 postcards of watercolour paintings by Gervase, alongside 60+ additional sketches, anecdotes, puzzles and poems that portray a way of life unique to the New Forest and Waterside area of Hampshire. The book lightly covers Gervase’s life story and shows a deep understanding of the history and people of the New Forest and Solent shoreline.  


Further publications are in hand and will feature on the website as they become available.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Wordpress SEO Plugin by SEOPressor